Requirement For Home Training
All applicants for a driver's license under 18 years of age must show proof of driver training at the time and before the driver's test.
If trained at home, the applicant must hold the learner's permit for six months prior to being able to test for a driver's license. Applicants who receive classroom and behind-the-wheel training at Connecticut Driving School, Inc. or a other commercial driving school or secondary school must hold a permit for four months.
Applicants may be trained at home by one of the follow Qualified Trainers (eligible to train and sign a form under penalty of false statement attesting to applicant’s fulfillment of all driver education requirements) must be 20 or older, held a driver license for at least 4 years with no suspensions during past 4 years and can include:
- Foster parent or legal guardian.
- Spouse of a married minor applicant.
- If applicant has no spouse, parent, grandparent, foster parent or guardian who is qualified & available stepparent, brother, sister, uncle or aunt, by blood or marriage.
One of the above must sign a statement at the time of the test which states that the applicant has obtained a learner's permit and successfully completed at least 22 hours of a course of study which covers all of the material in the Connecticut Driver's Manual, and such other information on driver education that is deemed necessary for a person to know in order to safely operate a motor vehicle under present day driving conditions.
The student driver must also be given at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel, on-the-road instruction. The 40 hour practice driving (behind-the-wheel) may be given by any combination of commercial/secondary/parent instruction. Learner permit holders are eligible to apply for a driver license after they have held the permit for at least 120 or 180 days. You must receive at least 30 hours classroom and 8 hours behind-the-wheel practice driving with a CT licensed commercial/secondary driving school to be eligible to take the test after holding the permit for only 120 days. It is advisable for home training instructor to use the Connecticut Driver's Manual as a reference for on-the-road training.
Trained applicants must also show evidence of completing a 8 hours course effective October 1, 2005 the course requirements is eight hours safe driving practices class (including the 2-hour parent training class) & that includes a minimum of four hours on the nature and the medical, biological and physiological effects of alcohol and drugs and their impact on the operator of a motor vehicle. The dangers associated with the operation of a motor vehicle after consumption of alcohol or drug abuse. The penalties for alcohol and drug- related motor vehicle violations.