All applicants for a driver's license
under 18 years of age must show proof of driver training at the time and
before the driver's test.
If trained at home, the applicant must hold the learner's permit for six
months prior to being able to test for a driver's license. Applicants who
receive classroom and behind-the-wheel training at
Connecticut Driving School, Inc.
or a other commercial driving
school or secondary school must hold a permit for
Applicants may be trained at home by one of the follow
(eligible to train and sign a form under penalty of false statement
attesting to applicant’s fulfillment of all driver education requirements)
or older, held a driver license for at least 4 years with no suspensions
during past 4 years and can include:
foster parent or legal guardian.
spouse of a married minor applicant.
applicant has no spouse,
parent, grandparent, foster parent or guardian who is
qualified & available
stepparent, brother, sister, uncle or aunt, by blood or marriage.
Notice: One of the above must sign a statement
at the time of the test which states that the applicant has obtained a
learner's permit and successfully completed at least
22 hours of a course of
study which covers all of the material in the
Connecticut Driver's Manual,
and such other information on driver education that is deemed necessary for
a person to know in order to safely operate a motor vehicle under present
day driving conditions.
The student driver must also be given at least
40 hours of
behind-the-wheel, on-the-road instruction. The
practice driving (behind-the-wheel) may be given by any combination of
commercial/secondary/parent instruction. Learner permit holders are eligible
to apply for a driver license after they have held the permit for at
least 120 or 180 days. You must receive
at least 30 hours
classroom and 8 hours behind-the-wheel practice driving with a CT licensed
commercial/secondary driving school to be eligible
to take the test after holding the permit for only 120
days. It is advisable for home training
instructor to use the Connecticut Driver's Manual
as a reference for
Home - trained applicants must also
show evidence of completing a
October 1, 2005 the course requirements
is eight hours
practices class (including the 2-hour parent training class) &
includes a minimum of
* The nature and the medical, biological and physiological
effects of alcohol and drugs and their impact on the operator
of a motor vehicle.
* The dangers associated with the operation of a motor vehicle
after consumption of alcohol or drug abuse.
* The penalties for alcohol an d drug- related motor vehicle
Once course is completed a
certificate will be issued to present on the day of your test. Either at
Connecticut Driving School or at Motor
Notice: Student drivers should contact
Connecticut Driving School
for this approved course.